Cold Blast in Wisco

The midwest has been hit hard this winter. We are breaking weather records left and right, and while we certainly don’t have it as bad as Minneapolis, these temperatures are starting to take a slight toll on me.


Image

Pictured here is my aforementioned boyfriend, Bryan, and I on our winter getaway to a Wisconsin B&B last month. We hiked eight miles on a twelve degree day and it felt GREAT.

Why am I telling you this? Because that cool, crisp air doesn’t feel great anymore. It hurts my face. Here’s the current weather in Milwaukee:

Image

The last two days have included waking up to wind chills of -15 and -20, and if that’s not a “Polar Vortex,” I don’t know what is.

Luckily, I have a nice workout facility at my college where I’ve been able to continue my half marathon training. My apartment is south-facing with free heat, so I get to continue wearing my grandma-esque nighties to bed. These are luxuries that I have not forgotten about.

So I will continue to wait patiently for summer. I’m dreaming of warm nights, cold beer, fish fry, long walks, patios, farmers markets, kayaking, delicious produce, and dresses. AND THOSE ARE JUST A FEW OF THE THINGS.

To combat this cold, here’s some stuff I’ve been doing to put an extra smile or two on my own face:

-Adding a spoonful of Nutella to my hot chocolate. I know.

– Trying new recipes! If I can’t be outside, I suppose it can’t hurt to experiment with different things to put in my quesadilla. Recent discovery: Cheddar, green apples, and stone-ground mustard.

-Brewing vanilla hazelnut flavored coffee. Yum.

Stay warm, and have a great weekend! Brrrrr.

Leave a Reply

