True Life: I Don’t Own a Camera

Well, today I made some pretty nifty little eats that I would just LOVE to share pictures of. I’m currently having a debate with myself about taking pictures with my iPhone 5c (um) or just blogging sans camera until my budget expands a little bit.

Breakfast

Today, I decided to try one of my favorite food blogger’s breakfast recipes: Copycat Starbucks Oatmeal from Iowa Girl Eats, of course. She’s one of my inspirations – a girl from the Midwest that makes delicious and affordable home-cooked meals that I don’t feel guilty about eating. You can click on the link below to go directly to the recipe; it is absolutely delicious. This was my first time cooking oatmeal on the stove instead of in the microwave – I’m a changed woman! I proceeded to top this heart-healthy meal with walnuts, sliced almonds, and dried blueberries.

http://iowagirleats.com/2014/02/28/copycat-starbucks-perfect-oatmeal/#comments

Lunch

I’m a “easy lunch” kind of person. If I’m going to make a real effort in the kitchen, dinner is my favorite meal to experiment with. Today I threw together something quick and healthy:

-A whole wheat bagel thin with 1 serving of extra chunky peanut butter (gotta have the CHUNK!)

-A 6 oz cup of plain greek yogurt, topped with: 1 cup fresh blueberries, a pinch of sliced almonds, a bit of honey and 1 tsp  of chia seeds (gotta have that CRUNCH!)

-1 serving of baby carrots

Protein, fruit, veggies, omega 3s (ch-ch-chia!) and a little sweetness = my perfect lunch.

…You’re probably wondering what the whole CRUNCH thing is about, and all you really need to know is that I love chomping down on my food. Plain yogurt with no chia seeds or almonds to crunch down on? What a bore…

Tonight

This morning, I prepared chicken taco soup for dinner with my true love, the crock pot. We make such a good team – I’m the initial assembler, and my crock pot finishes up the labor. We’ll live forever in blissful matrimony.

I have night school (can you think of anything more fun than a 3 hour accounting class?) so I’ll be leaving Bryan to fend for himself and eat soup. When I woke up today it was -25 degrees with the wind chill, so a hot dinner is sounding pretty darn tasty right about now.

Leave a Reply

